Yesterday, he and I went downtown to see a movie. First, we stopped at a place that he heard had "the best burgers in the city." They were really good. It is still kind of a big claim, but I will at least admit that they are up in the top ten.
After eating, we headed to the really big movie theater downtown to see Dark Knight. I have to say that it really did live up to the hype. Normally, I don't really enjoy comic book movies. I'm not sure why--I just don't. But I liked Batman Begins, so I figured I would give it a shot, especially since I'd heard such good things about it. It was definitely worth the price of admission.
When the movie ended, he convinced me to do something I have NEVER done before--not even in my teenage years. Really: never. He convinced me to casually walk into another theater with him, since there was really no one around checking, to see another movie for free. I was quite nervous to be honest. Like I said, I have never done that before--not even in my teenage years. As he and I walked into the theater for Tropic Thunder, I could hear my Mom's voice in my head saying, "That's just dishonest!" But I got over it, and we watched the second movie without incident (my assessment of Tropic Thunder is that it is only funny if you are surrounded by a room full of laughing people. And also that it will probably single-handedly rehabilitate Tom Cruise's damaged public image). In some way, I convinced myself that movie tickets are so overprices that I SHOULD be able to see two movies. A large part of me was also thinking, you are way too old to be doing this, but I don't plan to make a habit out of it, so I can admit that it was fun.
Two movies were more than enough for one night, so we left after Tropic Thunder (although he half-heartedly tried to convince me to see Pineapple Express too). He decided that he wanted to go to a bar that we often go to when we are downtown. We headed there and ordered drinks. A few minutes later a bride, wearing the full wedding dress and still holding her bouquet, walked in with what looked like wedding guests. I thought it was a little odd. It looked like a pretty formal wedding, and I couldn't figure out what they were doing in a bar--but the bar is in a hotel, so I figured that maybe it was a post-reception celebration before heading to bed. So, I just thought, aw, she looks pretty in her dress, and went back to talking to him.
He and I had a good time, sitting, drinking, talking--everything was normal. Until I looked up to see a SECOND bride walking in wearing a full wedding dress and being trailed by members of her wedding party. My first thought was, well maybe it was a wedding with two brides, but the two did not interact once, and did not seem to know each other. So that was really strange. In all the times we've been to that bar, I have not ONCE seen a bride or any member of a wedding party. But I guess stranger things could happen than seeing two brides in a bar.
We shrugged it off as an odd coincidence and continued to talk and drink.... until about an hour later when a THIRD bride walked in in full wedding regalia being trailed by a third wedding party. WHAT?!
I started looking around for hidden cameras. I actually asked him in all seriousness if this was a dream. It was just odd enough that I couldn't wrap my head around it. He brought up the fact that we'd also seen a bride with her bridal party walking down the street when we were on our way to dinner--and it was definitely not one of these three brides.
Okay, well we do live in a big city. The weather is pleasant. It must just be a popular wedding weekend. But the three brides in the bar--that is still strange. Was there some kind of "brides drink free" deal going on? None of them seemed at all phased by the fact that there were two other brides there, but none of them seemed to know each other. No interaction at all. And I don't think it was a practical joke--they all had nice hair styles, and expensive-looking bouquets of flowers (all three different), and a bunch of men with boutineers and tuxes, and dressed-up wedding guests--it would have been a very elaborate and expensive joke. HE didn't seem to get how strange it was. But it was, right?
So eventually we headed out. As we were walking to the door, we passed a group of girls who were walking toward the bar, one of whom was wearing a long bridal veil. Clearly a bachelorette party. Now we HAVE seen bachelorette parties at that bar before, so it wasn't that strange, but I kind of wished I could see the bachelorette's face when she walked into the bar. I hope she took the three brides as a good omen. I kind of wanted them all to take a picture together, if only so I could snap one too to document the strangeness of the night. I have to say that that was one of my odder experiences in this city.
All-in-all, we had a good night. We enjoyed the movies, we had a good time chatting at the bar, and it was just all around more pleasant than the night before. We got home around 2 or 2:30, and I was asleep by 4:00. He is still sleeping (what else is new?). Hopefully today will be a nice day too.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment