The past few days, I have been applying for more jobs. I met with my thesis advisor on Friday, and I have A LOT of work to do. I am not really upset about that though, because I know that his suggestions will make my paper better--just worried about getting it all done in time. Tomorrow I have to go back to the archive. Sigh. I guess I knew that was coming, but some small part of me hoped I was done shuttling downtown and back for research. Today I am going to go to the school library for more books, type up the notes I took during my meeting with my advisor, and probably apply for a couple more jobs. The thesis work will start tomorrow.
Things are great with HIM, aside from the usual nagging thoughts about the future. If this was a real relationship, I could say "things have never been better," or "we are doing fantastic," but those kinds of statements seem pointless in our situation--if that makes any sense. Things really couldn't be much better between us in the day-to-day stuff. There really isn't anything to fight about. If it wasn't for the end creeping up faster and faster, things would be perfect. I don't even know what else to say about it.
We've been watching a lot of movies. Last night, we watched Into The Wild. Long, but good. I want to read the book now (because we all know that the book is usually much better than the movie). Somehow, the fact that it is based on a true story really made the movie for me. It really makes you sit there and try to figure out what is going on in Chris/Alex's head. Is he selfish and reckless, or free-spirited and adventurous? It was really interesting how he just disappeared from his family without a trace. In high school, I always used to dream of making an escape like the one he actually made--not to go into the Alaskan wilderness, but just to start over somewhere new. I never actually did it (or would have done it), but he did. And it was fascinating to watch someone do what I always fantasized about doing when times got stressful or hard.
P has called me a few more times. Yesterday when I was at the grocery store with HIM, and last Saturday (that call, I genuinely missed). I know that I am a selfish bitch, but I wish that he would just stop calling. He is so persistent. I don't know if I HAVE to call him back. I just don't want to meet up with him. In a different time, under different circumstances--sure--but not now.
Considering not much worth mentioning is going on in my life at the moment, maybe I will continue with the past. I already gave the story of D, so maybe I will move on to A next, and make my way all the way through my dating history. But for now, off to shower and start my day (better late than never).
Sunday, July 20, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment