Monday, July 7, 2008

The Deadline Approaches

I am getting closer and closer to July 11, and I am still finding it hard to put in good, solid hours of work on my thesis. I put in about 3-4 hours yesterday. My progress is still slow. We'll see what I can get done today.

I didn't call P yesterday. I am an awful, awful person. I don't know why I didn't do it--I just didn't. I have a terrible habit of avoiding things that I don't want to deal with: my thesis, my job search, P. I really need to cut it out. I should call him today. It just feels so much easier not to.

HE finished his thesis draft yesterday, which means that he will spend the next few days getting drunk, watching movies, playing video games, etc. He is all out of pot, and doesn't have any easy way to get more, which makes me happier than it should. So it is just booze for him. Which can be fairly annoying on its own. He started his "I'm finished with my thesis draft" drinking yesterday.

Around 6:00 yesterday, he was done working for the week, and I was done for the day, so we walked down to Blockbuster to return some DVDs and get some more. On our way home, we stopped at the grocery store and bought food and stuff to make bloody mary's. It turns out that bloody mary's do to him what vodka and tonics do to me.

The whole day, he had been saying that he was going to cook me dinner, since I always cook for him. He bought steaks, spinach, mashed potatoes, and gravy, and promised to start cooking as soon as we got home from the store. He, of course, immediately started drinking bloody mary's, and kept pushing dinner back (probably because of his strange food-drink dichotomy). When I finally convinced him that if he didn't start cooking soon, I would probably just eat the raw steaks, he migrated over to my apartment and immediately... called his mother. He was already a little tipsy, and wanted to tell her about finishing his thesis draft. He managed to do most of the cooking while talking (although I did end up doing the gravy), but talked to his mother for about an hour. When he finally got off the phone, I was all ready to eat when he realized that we were out of bloody mary mix. So he ran off to the store. I waited for him to come back, because I wanted to eat with him. He got back, and we were finally ready to eat, when he darted off to his apartment to send his mother a copy of his thesis. I wound up eating without him. He was gone for a long time. I cleaned up the kitchen, and then around midnight went over to his apartment to see what had happened to him.

When I opened his door, I found him just laying there with his head on his desk, listening to music. I grabbed one of the movies we rented that he hadn't really wanted to see, and headed for the door. He started apologizing for getting so drunk, and making me wait all night. He said that he doesn't want to waste any of the time we have left, etc. I told him it was okay, and that I was just going to go watch a movie.

I came home and started the movie. About halfway through, he came over to apologize again. About a half hour after that, he came back again to say hi. About a half hour after that visit, he came back here to sleep at my apartment.

It wasn't the worst night. I was slightly annoyed with his flakiness earlier in the night, but it happens. I've been "annoying drunk" at times too. I think it led to him apologizing and repeatedly coming over here, rather than a fight, because I didn't get mad at him. That seems to be how it works with him. He responds much better to being calmly brushed off than being yelled at (go figure).

He is at work now. I am in my apartment. It is hot, I am exhausted, and I don't feel like working. But I will. I just need a shower to wake me up first. I think that tonight is the finale of the Bachelorette. Yay for fluffy reality TV! Something to look forward to.

No comments: