I have had a pretty busy couple of days. I am completely exhausted at the moment, and writing here is about the most strenuous thing I can manage to do.
I have officially HAD IT with my parents. My Dad emailed me yesterday morning basically saying, "How about I come move you out on August 8?" I am not even going to respond. I cannot handle their constant nagging. August 8 is too early. They simply will not listen to me--we have only had about a hundred phone conversations about this. Sometimes parents are so incredibly frustrating.
On a happier note, I submitted two job applications yesterday. They are basically for the same job at different pay grades. The job pays well, has benefits, and is something I would enjoy. It is a little bit of a reach for me, but I think I have a chance. I need to get moving on more applications--probably today--but I don't have the energy right now. At least I got two out. That is a start.
My thesis advisor finally emailed me. He hasn't returned my draft yet, but he did propose some possible times and places for us to meet and discuss the draft. My choices are: go pretty far downtown and meet him for breakfast tomorrow at 10AM, go pretty far downtown and meet him at 4PM tomorrow, or have him come to campus and meet me sometime Friday. These choices are causing me quite a bit of stress. He is doing research somewhere downtown where I have never been--and it is really far out there. I have no idea how to get there, although I am sure I could figure it out. Not having a car makes things much more difficult. I would have to take a train and a combination of other public transportation to get there. It would be MUCH easier for me if he came to campus, but for some reason I don't want to ask him to. I would feel like I was inconveniencing him. And adding to the stress about the time/place of the meeting is the fact that I am nervous about what he is going to say about my draft. He is pretty much an expert on the topic I wrote on. I know that I have to email him back very soon, but I can't decide what to say.
The reason I am so tired today is that yesterday he and I went to Cirque du Soleil. It was just as good as I remembered it being, and he was definitely surprised that it was so entertaining. I think it was worth the expensive ticket price. The show ended around 10:30, and it took awhile to catch a bus back to the main downtown area. We got back to that area at around 11:40. We could have caught and 11:55 train home, but he wanted to stay out later and since normally I can't drag him out of the apartment, I happily agreed. We went to the first bar we ever went to together. We stayed there until about 1:45AM. By the time we got outside, we had missed the last train, and the bus that we could also take to get home stopped running at 1:30. We had to get a cab--which was surprisingly difficult to do. We finally got one though, and probably made it home by about 2:30. We were both all wound up from the trip home, and ended up staying up quite a bit later. I think I fell asleep around 5:30. It was so ridiculously hot and uncomfortable in the apartment that I just could not get comfortable. Around 6:30, he woke me up and said he couldn't sleep and was leaving. He came back in around 8AM to get something, and then around 9AM to grab pillows and other things. I realized that he had not slept at all. Poor guy.
So, he is obviously sleeping now. I am awake, but definitely don't feel fantastic. At a certain point, I just realized that sleeping more wasn't going to help. I am not hungover--but I am tired in the "I went to sleep at a ridiculous hour" way, which for me is only fixed by another full night's sleep starting at a more reasonable hour. So I am resigned to feeling gross and tired today.
I am not sure if I should try to fill out more job applications in my current half-alive state. I know that I definitely have to email my professor back. He offered Friday on campus--maybe I should just take him up on it. I don't know. I wish I could ask HIM what I should do, but he will be asleep for several more hours now. Maybe I will take a shower first to clear my head.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment