I have been having a hard time putting serious hours into thesis work. My brain has gone into summer mode, even though it doesn't really matter that it is summer. Maybe today will be different? I know that that will only happen if I MAKE it different. I AM making progress--it is just slow. About two pages a day. I need to see if I can pound out more than that today.
Still no word on C's party. She said that she would call us as soon as she figured it out. Since it determines my plans for the rest of the week I would really like to know. But I guess I will just try to go with the flow. What else can I do?
Yesterday I only got in a few hours of work. He was hungover and not really working. He was hanging around my apartment a lot and distracting me. Which I really didn't mind, but I don't have any excuse not to get a lot of work done today. I think he realized that he had been a bit of a handful on Monday. He was apologetic, and much easier to deal with yesterday. Now he is at work. He has been there since 6AM because of a special one-day project. I don't know if he'll have enough energy to get work done this afternoon. I hope so. It is easier for me to work when I know that someone else is working too. I don't really know why.
Since my thesis draft is due July 11, and his is due July 7, I figured we needed a reward for all of our hard work. So, I bough tickets for Cirque du Soleil for July 15. It is touring in our city this summer. The tickets are pretty pricey, but I don't spend money on too much here, so it seemed like an acceptable splurge. I have seen it a few times with my parents (not the same show, and not in the same city), and it was amazing. Something to look forward to.
Even though I shouldn't have, I started a new novel yesterday. My Sister's Keeper. It is definitely different from The Time Traveler's Wife. I like it so far. But I really should have waited to start it until I was finished with this thesis draft. I am tempted to read it instead of working. Reading a novel at night just helps to calm me down. My Mom really started it. She has always been a big reader, and since me and my brother were little, she has been reading to us/encouraging us to read to ourselves. I remember sitting in the playroom with my brother and reading children's books, then young adult books, and finally full-grown novels. We both love reading. I guess that is a good thing. But definitely distracting when I have other things I am supposed to be doing.
I also still have some crappy reality TV to keep me entertained. And a ton of rented movies, which I don't even know when we will find the time to watch. I am still itching to get out of these apartments though. That is probably why I am so anxious to hear about C's party.
On with the work, then I should run a ton of errands later. Fun.
Wednesday, July 2, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment