Saturday, July 5, 2008

Fighting The Urge To Go Back To Bed

Thursday was incredibly uneventful. I decided to wait to go shopping until Friday before C's party, but then decided that trying to shop downtown on a holiday would be a horrible idea. So I have not shopped yet. I am considering just shopping online for a gift for my Mom. Riskier, since it is hard to tell what the clothes will actually look like from a couple of little pictures, but also easier.

Yesterday was pretty eventful. He and I headed downtown around 2:30, went out to eat for a late lunch (C told us there would only be snacks at her party), and wound up getting to C's apartment around 5:00. The party started at four, but of course we were still the first ones there, aside from C's roommate and C's boyfriend. He and I had some drinks with dinner before we got to C's, and started drinking again right away. Yeesh. There was a great deal of alcohol consumption on both our parts. A lot of other people showed up around 6:00. They were all nice, and lively, and fun to talk with.

The party broke down like this: C, her boyfriend, 2 other couples, me, him, 2 gay guys, 2 straight girls, 1 straight guy with a girlfriend who was not at the party, and 1 straight single guy. I wound up talking to the straight single guy, P, all night. He was cute, talkative, nice, and definitely interested in me. It drove HIM nuts. I didn't talk to P with that in mind, but it was a welcome side effect. P and I exchanged numbers at the end of the night, but more because P asked and it would have been strange to say no, than because I actually want to go on a date with him or anything. I would definitely be interested in P if it weren't for this complicated "relationship" with HIM (and the fact that I am probably leaving the city soon), but it probably isn't a good idea to make things any messier for myself.

The annoying thing about last night was that about four people separately asked me if HE is my boyfriend. Why do people always ask me that and not him? I said no, because it is true. I also said that it is complicated. It is the truth, and I really didn't know what else to say.

Overall, the party was fun. I got along well with the people there, and we walked down to the beach to watch the city's fireworks display, which was beautiful. He and I got a ride home from one of the couples at the party who live in our area.

We got home sometime between midnight and 1AM, and all he could talk about for the first hour we were home was P. He was very jealous. He was playing it off as kidding-around-jealous, but he was definitely bothered. He also started being extra-affectionate with me and telling me how much he cares about me, and that he thinks I am beautiful, and that he loves being around me, etc, etc.

Then he had a sudden mood swing. He couldn't find his MP3 player and was convinced that he'd left it on the beach. He started yelling at me because while we were on the beach I had opened his backpack to put an empty wine bottle in it and he was convinced that that was when the MP3 player must have fallen out. I was trying to calm him down and tell him that it would turn up. His response was, "Just shut the fuck up!" I left his apartment immediately, because his little outburst was very uncalled for and I was not going to put up with it. When I got back into my apartment, I saw his MP3 player sitting on my desk. I stormed back into his apartment and said something like, "It was in my apartment you prick" and left. I cooled off for a minute or two and then went back over to his apartment (my need to resolve things kicked in).

Long story short, he didn't want to talk and immediately went to the store to buy food and cigarettes while I waited in his apartment for him to come back. He was still pissed when he turned up awhile later. He started crying and going on for about an hour about how he is a bad person, that he doesn't treat me well, that he'll never be better than average academically, etc, etc. To make things extra fun, he was staggering-around-the-apartment drunk. I tried to talk him through his meltdown, and eventually convinced him to eat something and switch from beer to water. Once he had something to eat, he perked up and apologized for his bad mood, and immediately became "goofy drunk." He found pretty much everything funny, and spent most of the rest of the evening cracking jokes that didn't really make sense. He wanted to sleep at my apartment, so we moved from his place to mine and watched some TV. He passed out cold around 4AM and immediately started to snore loudly. I tossed and turned until about 5:30, when I finally managed to fall asleep.

When we finally woke up today, around noon, he was all sweetness and apologies. I guess we can chalk his meltdown up to extreme drunkenness. He has spent pretty much the whole day today jokingly talking shit about P, I assume because he feels threatened. He has also been all over me physically all day. It is strange. Apparently seeing another guy interested in me amped up his attraction to me and his level of affection with me.

I have done nothing today. I didn't shop, I didn't work on my thesis--I am just so tired and out of it. I think I am going to spend the evening poking around at presents for my Mom online and maybe reading my novel. Tomorrow I will start fresh and work.

We'll see how long HE remains extra attentive and affectionate. I don't know what I will do if P calls. He is a really cool guy, and I would definitely enjoy hanging out with him. I guess I will cross that bridge if I ever come to it.

No comments: