So I opted out of movie night. I asked my two movie companions if we could do it on Friday, and they were both okay with it. I feel guilty though. Honestly, Mondays are not good for me this term (last term we did a movie night every Monday). I have too much reading and papers due in the first half of my week most weeks. But I really COULD have made it. And honestly, this week it was more about wanting to watch the basketball game than having too much work to do. I don't want to do Friday every week either though. Here's why (this is the part where I suck):
Friday evenings are so relaxed. I have the whole weekend ahead, no papers due on most Saturdays or Sundays, and I can really enjoy whatever I am doing. Movie night is honestly a little low-key for my taste. I would rather go to a bar, play some pool, or go downtown. So I don't want to commit to doing movie night EVERY Friday. I want to leave some Fridays open to spend out, with K or HIM or other people that run in our general social circle. Fridays are too awesome and carefree to commit to one activity, unless it is something that I really really love to do. And I get the sense that at least one of the people that I do movie night with isn't really into going out. Maybe I should suggest it this week.
And alright, and if I am being 100% honest, I don't enjoy movie night all that much. I love movies, and I like the people that I watch them with, but for some reason, the combination doesn't jazz me too much. It kind of feels like a chore to go. At first I thought that it was because I wanted to spend so much time with HIM and didn't like the evening away, but since meeting K, I know that that isn't it. I have a lot of fun out with her and am really not concerned with what HE is doing. But K and I mix up what we do--sometimes it is brunch, sometimes dinner, sometimes shopping downtown, sometimes out to a bar... I think I need that variety. I also think I just gel better with K than with my movie friends. Is that a terrible thing to say? Maybe tomorrow I will email my movie friends and suggest an alternate activity for Friday. Or at least suggest going OUT to see a movie. If I don't like the situation, I really should try to fix it instead of bitching about it. Of course that doesn't apply to the situation with HIM as easily. But movie night is something I can fix. Now I just need to figure out how to stop feeling guilty about rescheduling...
Monday, April 7, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment