Friday, June 20, 2008

Best Get Moving

I am supposed to be out buying food/alcohol for our concert trip (we got lawn seats so we can eat and drink), but I just woke up a little while ago, and I don't quite feel like moving yet. We decided against staying up in the 'burbs overnight, so that makes it a little easier to pack for the show. I just have to wake up first.

Yesterday was nice. We got downtown around 4, did a little bit of shopping, got an early dinner (or late lunch--since neither of us had had a real meal yesterday up to that point), saw the movie, had a couple drinks, and came home. I liked the movie. I can understand why it got mixed reviews though. First, it was quite long. Close to 2 1/2 hours. I didn't mind too much, but I could tell that it was long even while I was watching it. Second, as HE pointed out to me while we were walking out of the theater, on the whole it was a bit overly sunny and happy. I think it had to be that way, but I can see how it would bother some people. And third--this is a very small point, but still bothered me for some reason--Stanford and Anthony, who hated each other throughout the series, were friends in the movie. No explanation. And Stanford's boyfriend was MIA. That was the only point that really irked me. It is so minor, but really inconsistent. I hate inconsistencies in movies. But, all in all, I enjoyed it. It was worth the trip downtown--and worth the several years that Sex and the City fans have been waiting for a movie--there had, after all, been rumors of a movie even before the series ended.

So, it was a good day. The only thing that might put a damper on today is that it is supposed to rain off and on all day/night. Not the best time to have lawn seats... But I still think we will have a good time. He and I have been getting along well these past few days. I will try not to sabotage that by picking some kind of stupid fight. I can't promise anything. I think the key is to focus on the good things. Instead of looking at the few things that I think show that he doesn't care about me, I will focus on the tons of other things that show that he does--like him buying me the Sex and the City box set, watching the entire thing with me, and then taking me to see the movie. It takes a lot of effort on my part to keep the positive thinking, but I was able to do it yesterday, so I can probably do it again today. I could feel some doubts creeping up into my head last night, but I pushed them down, we didn't fight, and we both had a good night. Time to repeat that mental exercise.

Guess I best go shower and hit the store.

No comments: