Monday, June 2, 2008

Monday Is Not So Bad

Feeling pretty good today. Despite the insane amount of work that I have to do this week, I am staying pretty positive. I am definitely already feeling guilty about going to that party tonight, but she is my friend and I should see her before she leaves. I wish I could just read all day in preparation, but I have class for two hours this afternoon, and after that I have to go to the store to buy vodka (I asked what I should bring, and that was my assignment).

Must... not... drink... vodka. Vodka is my Achilles heel. You can mix it with anything, you can barely taste it, and it is alarmingly easy to drink too much. I will bring the vodka, but I really should stick with beer. I have had many an embarrassing drunken incident that started with vodka. And considering that I have to make a 5-6 block trek back home, by myself, after the party (the blocks are big and it can get a little sketchy here at night), I should take it easy. But there isn't really a drink that can top a vodka and tonic in my book. Except maybe a lemon drop martini. I got this recipe off of Oprah (yes, Oprah) about two years ago. It is fantastic. Juice 3 lemons (fresh is so much better than the bottled juice--I've tried both), add two tablespoons of sugar, two shots of vodka, a few fresh mint leaves, shake over ice and pour in sugar-rimmed martini glass, garnish with mint leaves. SO good. And the mint really does add something. Fresh lemon drop martinis may be one of my favorite things at the moment, now that the weather is warming up (first time it has been in the 80s since last August/September).

Speaking of things to love as the weather warms up--I also love my new razor. Sometimes I shower at his house, and wind up using his razor. The first time I used his razor, I realized that it was far superior to my razor. They are the same brand. He has the "boy" version, and I have the "girl" version. Wow, the girl version does not stack up AT ALL. I have the Gillette Venus--like half of the girls I know. He has the Gillette Mach 3. So yesterday, I bought myself a Mach 3. Even though I know that it is silly to buy into the marketing, I have to admit that I felt a little odd buying a guy's razor. They were even in a separate part of the aisle than the women's razors. You have to walk past the colorful pink, orange, and purple ladies' razors and go waaaaay down the aisle to find these sad looking silver, gray, and black men's razors. But after I used his razor for the first time, I knew that I had to have one. I don't understand why there is such a difference in how they work. Seriously, women have more areas to shave than men, and on average, probably care more about how smooth the razor gets those areas. Now that I know, it is only ugly black and silver razors for me.

And since I am on a "things that are great in warm weather" kick, I may as well add Ciao Bella Lemon Sorbet. Holy CRAP that stuff is good. I was looking for Italian ice at the grocery store, and that was the closest they had. I am so glad they didn't have Italian ice. This stuff is amazing. It is the perfect mix of sour and sweet. It might rival my love for lightly salted Kettle Chips--which I am no longer allowed to buy, since the bags never last for more than two days in my apartment.

So, obviously I am feeling pretty perky today. Things are still nice and calm with me and him. Believe it or not, this may be one of the longest calm stretches we've had in awhile. I think that is because: 1) he is out of pot (finally) and it is pretty hard for him to find more around here, and 2) I have managed to stop freaking out every time he talks about his plans for next year. Maybe I have actually finally come to grips with it. Whatever the reason, I am glad. I feel so much better when we are not fighting. I am not going to fool myself into thinking it can go on like this forever, but it would be nice if it at least lasted through the week. The only things raining on my parade today are the amount of work I have to do, and some revelations about my most recent ex, M. But since I have to get to class, and don't feel like bringing down my mood this morning by writing about mopey stuff, that can wait until next time.

No comments: