I still have my profile on that dating site--mainly because I have been exchanging messages with two particular guys. I have not responded to any of the other ones, since I am not, after all, looking for dates. But these two guys wrote me such nice and interesting messages that I felt compelled to respond. It has all just been casual and friendly. It didn't seem like a huge deal to keep responding to their messages. Until now. One of them suggested that we meet up to watch a movie sometime after all of my finals are done. Uh oh. Definitely should have seen that coming. This is a problem to me for several reasons.
1. I signed up for this site out of drunken anger, not because I actually wanted to meet guys to date. It was all good and fun when I was just emailing with them, but I don't actually want to MEET them.
2. Not so sure how I feel about meeting people from the internet in general. Especially not to watch a movie. Maybe to get a cup of coffee--something public and very casual. Meeting for a movie (and it didn't sound like he meant to go OUT to a movie), is just not smart for so many reasons.
3. I am not exactly available. Although I am technically single, I am obviously all wrapped up in HIM emotionally. Plus, he sleeps at my apartment every night now, we spend 90% of our time together, and I know he would NOT be okay with me dating anyone (we have had that conversation). And even if he doesn't actually get any say in whether or not I date people (considering he doesn't want to actually commit to me), I am relatively happy with our situation as it is now and don't want to rock the boat.
So, I am not exactly sure what to respond to Online Guy. I figure I have a few days to respond before it seems like I am blowing him off. I don't think I am really okay with just deleting my profile without offering some sort of explanation--he, and the other guy, have been nothing but nice, and I don't want to be so rude to them. So I don't really know what to do. Tell him that I am emotionally unavailable (which would bring up the very fair question on his part of why I am on the site at all), tell him I am not comfortable meeting yet, meet with him but suggest coffee instead of a movie...? I feel like I am living a double life.
And on top of all of that, him and I are actually in a pretty good place at the moment. He managed to temper his "finals mode" a bit after I told him how I felt about it, and has even offered to cook me dinner (AND do the dishes) tomorrow night, since I will be working on my 25 page paper and he will be taking the night off between papers. We have been watching the Sex and the City box set together, and he actually seems to be enjoying it. He says that he wants to watch it so that as soon as finals end he can take me out to a nice dinner and to see the movie. We have settled into a pleasant routine. Work all day, watch some Sex and the City, go to bed. Sadly, no time for sex in all of this. But HE even brought that up, saying that he knows we haven't done that in a few days, and he hopes that I don't think there is anything wrong because of it, that it is just a lag during finals. Overall, he has been attentive, and supportive, and affectionate lately. It might also have something to do with the fact that I have managed not to have any meltdowns for awhile now. The calm period continues.
At the moment, I am working on my paper and avoiding the issue of Online Guy. And I will continue to avoid it for the time being.
Sunday, June 8, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment