Saturday, June 21, 2008

Stuffed Up

I officially have a full-blown cold. My head is so stuffy that I can barely hear anything. Fun fun. Luckily it held off until after we finished our weekend plans.

We made it up to the concert yesterday. There were a TON of people there. But it didn't rain, the temperature was perfect, and we carved out a nice little spot in the grass to lay out our blanket, food, and wine. We had a really nice night. Getting home was a little tricky. People had been going up to the concert venue all day via a special train that only stops there, so when the concert ended, there were about six trains' worth of people trying to fit onto three trains. He and I had very different approaches to navigating this crowd. He preferred to stand in the back and assume that we would eventually make it home, while I preferred to move with the crowd and actually try to make it home. After attempting to get him to try to get on the train with me, I had no choice but to go with his method, since he refused to do anything but stand back and wait. We got on the second train.

This had to be the slowest moving train in the history of public transportation. Every stop, it had to stop twice--once to empty the first half of the train, and a second time after it pulled up far enough for the second half of the train to empty. By the time we were three stops away from our stop, I had to pee pretty badly. By the time we were one stop away, I was really considering using one of our empty wine bottles. He wanted to get off the train just so I could use the bathroom. Of course, we were in the middle of nowhere and would have had a helluva time getting home from there--so I waited. And I made it--but not with much time to spare.

From the downtown train station, our only option was to hail a taxi. It was about 2AM by the time we made it downtown, and all of the other public transportation was stopped for the night. We actually didn't have much trouble getting a cab, and for once, the driver didn't drive us in circles to run up the fare.

We got back home, and settled in to his apartment to unwind a bit before bed. Then he picked a fight. He brought up how I was trying to get on the train like the rest of the crowd at the concert venue, when he just wanted to hang back and wait. We bickered about that a bit, he apologized for picking a fight, and we went to sleep at his apartment.

Late this morning I got up to use the bathroom. When I came back to bed he said, "Why did you come back to bed? It is so hot in here." I couldn't tell if he was talking in his sleep or not (sometimes he does). I asked him if he wanted me to leave. He shook his head and went back to sleep. I left. For one thing, it was hot in there. Also, I do not want to be somewhere where I am not wanted. I couldn't get back to sleep once I got back to my own apartment. I really hope he was just talking in his sleep, because if he wasn't, I don't know why the hell he would think it was a good idea to say that to me when I was half asleep and crawling back into bed after a quick bathroom run. I will give him the benefit of the doubt, and wait until he wakes up and explains himself to get pissed.

So, I should get some work done today, but I feel like crap. The cold medicine isn't helping a whole lot. Maybe once I shower I will feel better.

No comments: