Saturday, June 7, 2008

Day 2 of Finals Hell

Definitely overslept this morning, but I have been working fairly hard, so I guess no harm done. Well, I have been working hard with the exception of a two hour break in the middle of the day. Yeah, that wasn't a great idea. But, in any case, I am almost done with my final (which is due by tomorrow at noon anyways), and then I can just focus on the 25 page paper that is due on Wednesday. I am a little nervous about finishing it in time. Nothing like no choice.

I am becoming a little annoyed with him at the moment. He is in finals mode too, and he becomes pretty difficult to be around during finals. He still knocks on my door and wants to spend time with me--he is just very self-involved and quiet. It becomes all about him. HE is stressed, HE wants to bounce ideas off of me, HE wants a back rub. On top of that, he is so absorbed in his own world of work, that he only listens about 20% of the time when I am talking. So he will talk about how stressed he is, I will listen and help him reason through things, then I will try to talk about my work, and he will completely space out. It really grates on my nerves. I am stressed out too, and I cannot take on all of his stress on top of mine! So I have no problem not knocking on his door at the moment.

And when he gets quiet and self-involved like that it makes me feel crappy in general, because it reminds me that when it comes down to it, he will never be willing to make room for me in his life. It is all about him--unless he needs me around to make himself feel better about something.

I think I am being a little overly bitter and cranky. I guess I am just worn out from working all day. I don't know if I will be able to improve my mood until these finals are done. And actually, until his finals are done too. Until next Friday, he will be in his own little world.

This year is coming to an end so fast. If I wasn't so mentally fried right now, I would be terrified.

No comments: