Thursday, May 22, 2008

How...

...is it Thursday already? This week flew by. He and I leave for our trip tomorrow afternoon. Yesterday we realized that Monday is Memorial Day too, so there is no need for us to rush back to get me to class on time. So tomorrow at 3ish until sometime mid-Monday, I will be with him and his family. It just occurred to me yesterday that I should bring something for them too. His parents paid for some pretty expensive event tickets ($150 a pop!), and we are staying at his sister's house. For his parents, I figure that a nice bottle of wine is okay, but his sister is not quite of-age, so I can't exactly give her alcohol in front of the parents (they may not actually care, but he says that she is not really a drinker anyways). I don't have time to go downtown and find anything, so my options are limited. Why didn't I think of this sooner?

He wants me to talk to his sister while we are there. Apparently the guy who is living with her (rent free) is a controlling, lazy, loser. She no longer has any friends or sees anyone but him outside of work. He doesn't pay bills, or rent, or anything. I used to date a controlling loser type, so he thinks that I might be able to get through to her where others have failed. BUT, you cannot have a conversation like that with someone you've just met. I told him that, but he is pretty insistent that he wants me to try. Really though, who am I to give anyone relationship advice? My own situation is pretty screwed up. I don't think I seem like a very credible source. I guess I will play it by ear. Who knows, maybe she and I will gel really well, and I will feel comfortable offering her unsolicited relationship advice...

Things are back to okay with him. He asked me to get a drink with him after class yesterday. We spent the evening talking (a lot about the trip), then got dinner and watched some good, mindless TV (Real World--I am so ashamed, and Top Chef). No pot for him last night. Which makes sense, since it is hidden in my apartment. It was a nice change. It definitely put me in a better mood.

Now I just have one class and a paper to work on. I'll save the shopping and packing for tomorrow.

No comments: