Wednesday, May 14, 2008

A Little Better

My bad mood has passed (or is passing). Really, all of these rantings are just examples of my bitterness over this situation that him and I have. And I know that I have no right to be bitter. I knew what I was signing up for. I also know that if I have such a huge problem with it, I should end the situation and move on with my life. I clearly don't want to do that. So, I will have to continue my endless bitching on here--but, hey, what are blogs for?

On the upside, after today my week gets much easier. I have one class tomorrow, and I have already decided that I will not be doing anything on Friday (booze cruise day)! I love setting aside a lazy day in advance. It allows me to actually enjoy my laziness, rather than feeling guilty. I will try to be productive today and tomorrow in preparation--although, I never really work past 9PM.

See, I really have to have my evening TV fix. And I watch mostly terrible shows (with some exceptions). My must-sees this year: Rock of Love 2 (finished: Ambre was the right choice--good job Bret), Flavor of Love 3 (almost finished: he'd better pick Thing 2), The Bachelor (finished: wrong choice--Shayne? Really??), Top Chef, Medium, Ugly Betty, Desperate Housewives, The Hills (I can't believe I just admitted that, even anonymously. Don't judge me), and The Bachelorette (starting next Monday). Not much quality in there. The Medium, Ugly Betty, and Desperate Housewives are good shows, and Top Chef is a classier reality show, but the rest are pretty awful. I also watch a whole host of other awful shows when none of these happen to be on, and I have already watched any new episodes I missed online (damn you, online television). Other awful picks include Gene Simmins Family Jewels, and Girls Next Door. You get the point.

Sometimes I feel guilty for watching such horrible television. But then I realize that I am in graduate school and need the mental release that absolute crap gives me. It is hard to watch anything substantial after a long day of thinking, reading, and analyzing. And it is definitely not just graduate students that can benefit from bad television. I think that anyone who is stressed out should give it a shot (which reminds me, I also sometimes watch A Shot at Love with Tila Tequila). So my message to you: give crap a chance. It is more entertaining than you think it is.

Last night, I told him that I keep a blog. I made him promise never to ask to see it, ask me how/where to find it, or bother me about it. I told him because he asked what I was doing online. I happened to be blogging, and I decided to be honest. He knows that I used to keep a paper diary (now replaced by this), so it didn't seem like a big deal to tell him that I keep a blog. For me, what I write here is not very different from what I used to write in my diary.

Time to get ready for class and cram some more reading in. I finished my paper for class today, but predictably did not finish the book. I still have some time before I have to leave. I will read a bit more. By 3PM today, I will be done with the worst of my week--and Top Chef is on tonight, so I have something to look forward to.

No comments: